mopaprofits.blogg.se

How to become a professional road racer
How to become a professional road racer












I know myself and my limits, and I can deal with loss and adversity." I have had these feelings before and I have the tools to deal with them. But I have been through setbacks in work and normal life.

how to become a professional road racer

"When you’re young, it feels all very big, like time is spilling away from you and an injury would kill off all your chances. The Women’s WorldTour rider also thinks her years make her more resilient and mentally stronger. "I didn’t know anything about training, nutrition or physiology, but I have been to uni, and having a degree makes it easier for me to read and pick out information that will serve me as a cyclist." > Subscriptions deals for Cycling Weekly magazine Now 29, Chapman believes that her life experience gained before she got serious about cycling works to her advantage. I was a backpacker in my early-20s and had to navigate different cities, languages, accommodations, foods, staying with people who I didn’t know." "I don’t think, ‘Oh s**t, I’m at a disadvantage because they have 10 years more experience’. "We may not have been in an athletic institution, but we have more life experiences and can draw on that," says Australian pro Brodie Chapman, who started racing professionally in 2018, aged 26.

how to become a professional road racer

In fact, it may even confer certain advantages – what if late-starters hold the ace card? In other words, starting out in your mid-20s may not place you at a significant disadvantage. "Is there a major difference in physiological potential between a 15-year-old and 25-year-old? I would say no," Davison says. The narrative, despite a smattering of isolated cases to the contrary, is that if you’re not a professional by your early-20s, you never will be.














How to become a professional road racer